CrESt – Collaborative Embedded Systems

Collaborative embedded systems will have a strong impact on significant technological development and re-define current factory processes. Tomorrow’s factories will be able to flexibly react to changing production factors thanks to adaptive system architectures. Learning machines will take over the work of central order management systems and organise their transport order coordination autonomously. InSystems Automation is one of 22 international partners from industry and science who take part in the research project CrESt (Collaborative Embedded Systems). This government- and DLR-initiated endeavour is meant to run for three years and has a total budget of over 24 million euros.

Forschungsprojekt CrESt - Maschinen vernetzen sich zu lernenden Teams

Collaborative Embedded Systems – Machines link to become learning teams

 

What does CrESt cover?

The research project CrESt is divided in six co-called „Engineering Challenges“ and six interdisciplinary topics. The first three Engineering Challenges are concerned with the overarching question of how to best design the architecture of flexible, dynamic and adaptive systems.

The term flexible architecture refers to a factory’s ability to adapt to changes in production conditions (adaptable factory). How could, for example, a new machine with new features be integrated in a pre-existing row of machines in order to improve the whole factory’s output? In this scenario, it is assumed that the production process is put on hold while the re-fitting works take place.

What are collaborative embedded systems and what does InSystems research?

In the project aspect of dynamic architectures, it is, among others, InSystems’ task to investigate options to integrate a robot into a pre-existing fleet using simple mechanisms such as Plug & Play without the need to pause the whole production process. Once integrated, this robot or machine is then supposed to take all the information it needs from the overarching system and automatically receives its driving plans. In another project titled „adaptive systems“ , methods and technologies for decentralized order management are being developed.

Another one of CrESt’s topics is that of environmental examination, or contextualization. In InSystems’ case, this concerns the question of how one might optimize transport robots so that they are able to keep up their transport work even if their environment changes drastically. In factories, the location of goods placements, shelves or even machines may change frequently. If this is the case, transport robots must be enabled to quickly record these changes before any collisions or other errors occur.

Therefore it is the project’s goal to make it so that every individual robot is able to monitor its own battery status and calculate the cost a transport order would have for it. The decision of which robot should take on which transport order then no longer lies with a centralized fleet management system, but with the robots themselves who are meant to communicate among each other and determine which one of them is best suited to fulfill an order depending on the system goal.

Objectives of the research project

CrESt, as a research project funded by the Federal Ministry for Education and Research, is concerned with the development of collaborative embedded systems, with a focus on dynamic software systems. The project’s goal is to define methods for model-based descriptions of dynamic, scalable applications. The cases where such technology would be useful are many: autonomous robots, learning control systems and production machines are only a few examples. Such systems are meant to safely collaborate and take over repetitive work previously done by humans to optimize these processes in a goal-oriented manner. Based on the model-based system designs, analyses can be run to record all features a system will need and find application in InSystems Automation GmbH’s transport robots.

Further information:

CrESt-Website (German)

News: proANT robots for CrESt at the Cebit 2018

Press releases for the Cebit 2018 (German)

News: CrESt sets new standards

CrESt – Kollaborierende eingebettete Systeme

Kollaborierende eingebettete Systeme werden zu einem erheblichen technologischen Wandel beitragen und unsere Fabrikprozesse neu definieren. Fabriken von morgen werden unter Einsatz adaptiver Systemarchitekturen flexibel auf sich verändernde Produktionsbedingungen reagieren können. Lernende Maschinen werden zentrale Auftragsverwaltungen ablösen und sich selbst autonom zur Koordination von Transportaufgaben organisieren können. InSystems Automation engagiert sich mit 22 weiteren internationalen Partnern aus Industrie und Wissenschaft im Forschungsprojekt CrESt (Collaborative Embedded Systems – Kollaborierende eingebettete Systeme). Das von der Bundesregierung und der DLR initiierte Vorhaben ist auf insgesamt drei Jahre angelegt und hat ein Gesamtvolumen von über 24 Mio. Euro.

Forschungsprojekt CrESt - Maschinen vernetzen sich zu lernenden Teams

Was beinhaltet CrESt?

Das Forschungsprojekt CrESt teilt sich in sechs sogenannte „Engineering Challenges“ und sechs Querschnittsthemen auf. Die ersten drei „Engineering Challenges“ widmen sich dabei der übergeordneten Frage nach der Architektur von flexiblen, dynamischen und adaptiven Systemen.

Unter flexiblen Architekturen versteht man die Fähigkeit einer Fabrik, sich veränderten Produktionsverhältnissen anzupassen (Stichwort: Wandelbare Fabrik). Wie lässt sich beispielsweise eine neue Maschine mit veränderten Leistungsfeatures in einen bestehenden Maschinenverbund integrieren, um die Gesamtleistung einer Fabrik zu vergrößern? In diesem Szenario wird davon ausgegangen, dass die Produktion für die Zeit des Umbaus angehalten wird.

Was sind kollaborierende eingebettete Systeme und was erforscht InSystems?

Im Teilprojekt der dynamischen Architekturen wird unter anderem von InSystems zu untersuchen sein, wie ein Roboter über einen simplen Mechanismus wie etwa Plug & Play in eine vorhandenen Flotte eingebunden werden kann, ohne dass der Produktionsprozess unterbrochen werden muss. Einmal integriert, holt sich der Roboter oder die Maschine dann alle Informationen vom Systemverbund und erhält seine Fahrplanung automatisch. In einem weiteren Teilprojekt mit dem Titel „adaptive Systeme“ werden Methoden und Techniken für eine dezentrale Aufgabenverwaltung entwickelt.

Ein anderer Schwerpunkt des CrESt-Vorhabens ist schließlich das Thema der Umgebungsbetrachtung (oder Kontextualisierung). Speziell auf den Fall von InSystems gewendet, geht es hierbei um die Frage, wie man Transportroboter technisch so optimieren kann, dass sie auch bei starken Veränderungen in ihrem Arbeitsumfeld Transportaufgaben störungsfrei abwickeln können. Oft ändern sich in Fabriken Warenpositionen, Regale werden verschoben oder Maschinen hinzugefügt. In solchen Fällen müssen die Transportroboter schnell die neue Umgebung und veränderten Texturen erfassen, bevor es zu Zusammenstößen kommt.

Ziel des Projektes ist es also, jeden einzelnen Roboter als Einzelsystem in die Lage zu versetzen, selbst über seinen aktuellen Batteriezustand Bescheid zu wissen, und allein Aufwand und Kosten für einen Transportauftrag zu errechnen. Nicht mehr ein übergeordnetes zentrales Flottenmanagementsystem entscheidet, welcher Roboter welchen Auftrag übernehmen soll, sondern die Fahrzeuge ermitteln untereinander entsprechend des Systemziels, welcher Roboter über die optimalen Voraussetzungen für einen Transportauftrag verfügt.

Zielvorhaben des Forschungsprojekts

Das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderte Forschungsprojekt CrESt widmet sich der Entwicklung kollaborierender eingebetteter Systeme. Hierbei stehen dynamische Softwaresysteme im Fokus. Ziel des Projektes ist die Definition von Methoden zur modellbasierten Beschreibung von dynamischen nachladbaren Applikationen. Anwendungsbeispiele gibt es viele: Von autonomen Robotern, lernenden Steuerungsgeräten bis Produktionsmaschinen. Sie sollen sicher miteinander kollaborierend arbeiten und dem Menschen sich wiederholende Tätigkeiten abnehmen und optimal zielorientiert ausführen. Basierend auf den modellbasierten Systementwürfen, können Analyseverfahren die dafür notwendigen Eigenschaften der Systeme absichern und ihre Anwendung in den Transportrobotern von InSystems Automation GmbH finden.

Weiterführende Links:

CrESt Webseite

News: proANT Roboter für CrESt auf der Cebit 2018

Pressemitteilung zur Cebit 2018

News: CrESt setzt neue Maßstäbe