Transport robots for the flow of materials 4.0

Artikel in den VDMA NachrichtenIn its article “Transport robots for the flow of materials 4.0” in the VDMA News of July, the VDMA (Verband deutscher Maschinenbauer – Mechanical Engineering Industry Association) reported on the use of our autonomously navigating proANT-vehicles in industrial contexts. InSystems has been part of the VDMA since 2006.

Get the pdf article

 

Original article (VDMA News of July 2017)

Automated guided vehicles (AGVs) provide highly effective means of transporting materials within production lines, especially when compared to regular, track-bound transport technology.

Autonomously navigating transport robots calculate their ideal path within a production or other industrial plant themselves. They are not bound to set routes and their management system does not dictate which way to take. These robots use a laser scanner for orientation purposes, meaning that they do not require markings, reflectors or guided tracks in their environment. This flexibility allows for enhancement of the flow of materials’ effectivity and minimisation of non-profitable actions.

InSystems Automation GmbH in Berlin Adlershof develops these kinds of robots. They are able to move loads weighing anything from 30 to 1000kg. “Our vehicles work together with staff without any need for the installation of security measures such as fences or separated pathways.” explains Susanne Dannat, responsible head of marketing and machine security. If the vehicle detects an obstacle in its security field, it drives slower to navigate around the obstacle or comes to a halt. The robots’ communication takes place via encrypted WLAN. The signals they send are used to broadcast status information, avoid interference of another’s path and more.

Always on the ideal route

The robots receive simple transport orders from their management system, such as “Pick up at point A, take to point B”, and then calculate their ideal route to those points. While calculating, the robots not only take the shortest way to their goal into account, but also consider other factors broadcasted by other robots, such as bottlenecks on some paths. If they encounter obstacles on their route, they are able to navigate around them on alternative paths if necessary.

Scalable, redundant, saving space and flexible

A transport robot fleet is scalable and new vehicles can be added at will. Their ability to find their path is independent from any additional technical support elements such as reflectors on the walls. Every change to the production process can be adapted to with these AGVs. All it takes is to save the changes of the environment in their system and update their saved destinations.

Susanne Dannat:

“Industry 4.0 is an important topic even when dealing with in-plant transport tasks.”

The transport robot fleet is able to quickly compensate fleet member outages. Should one vehicle fail, then others will calculate alternative paths and take over its tasks. The robots also share space flexibly when in narrow corridors, in front of machines used by staff or around possible temporary obstacles. The technological challenges when using such autonomous transport systems come about due to varying conditions customers wishing to install a fleet may have, but also because the vehicles’ and management system’s communication with the machinery used in a customer’s production line usually has to be designed individually for the customer’s precise needs. Doing so ensures that transport orders can be created as necessary from material demand, production processes are integrated correctly and all safety measures are abided by.

The german article was printed in the 7th issue of the VDMA News.

Source: VDMA, editor contact: Peter Frühauf

VDMA News

proANT product website

Transportroboter für Materialfluss 4.0

Artikel in den VDMA NachrichtenMit dem Titel „Transportroboter für den Materialfluss 4.0“ berichtet der  VDMA, Verband deutscher Maschinenbauer, in seiner Juli-Ausgabe der VDMA Nachrichten über den Einsatz unserer autonom navigierenden proANT-Fahrzeuge in der Industrie. Seit 2006 engagiert sich InSystems als Mitglied beim VDMA.

Artikel als Pdf

 

Artikeltext in den VDMA Nachrichten Juli 2017

Fahrerlose Transportroboter Systeme (FTS) ermöglichen im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen spurgesteuerten Lösungen einen deutlich effizienteren Materialfluss in der eigenen Produktion.

Autonom navigierende Transport­roboter berechnen selbst ihren Fahr­weg in der unternehmenseigenen Produktions-­ oder Industrieanlage. Sie haben weder feste Routen auf den Verkehrswegen, noch wird ih­nen vom Leitsystem der Fahrweg vorgegeben. Die Transportroboter orientieren sich mittels eines Laserscanners in ihrer Umgebung und be­nötigen keine Markierungen, Reflektoren oder Spurführungen. Auf diese Weise lassen sich der Materialfluss deutlich effizienter gestalten sowie nicht wert­schöpfende Tätigkeiten minimieren.

Die InSystems Automation GmbH in Berlin ­Adlershof entwickelt genau sol­che Transportroboter. Sie können Lasten von 30 bis 1.000 Kilogramm bewegen. „Unsere Fahrzeuge arbeiten mit der Belegschaft zusammen, ohne dass beson­dere Sicherheitsvorkehrungen wie Zäune oder getrennte Verkehrswege getroffen wer­den müssen“, erklärt die zu­ständige Leiterin für Marketing und Maschinensicher­heit, Susanne Dannat. Tritt ein Hindernis im Sicherheitsfeld auf, ver­ringert das Fahrzeug seine Geschwindig­keit, navigiert um das Hindernis herum oder stoppt. Die Kommunikation erfolgt über ein verschlüsseltes WLAN. Dadurch werden Staus oder gegenseitige Behin­derung vermieden.

Immer auf der optimalen Route

Vom Leitsystem erhalten die Fahrzeuge einen einfachen Transportauftrag wie „Hole bei A, bringe zu B“ und errechnen sich dann die optimale Route zu den Sta­tionen. Bei der Kalkulation berücksich­tigt der Transportroboter nicht nur die kürzeste Strecke zum Ziel, sondern auch bereits von anderen Fahrzeu­gen erkannte Engstellen. Hindernisse auf der berechneten Fahr­strecke werden auf einer Alternativroute umfahren.

Skalierbar, redundant, platzsparend und flexibel

Eine Flotte von Transport­robotern ist skalierbar und kann nach Belieben durch weitere Fahrzeuge ergänzt werden. Die Routenplanung ist unabhängig von zusätzlichen techni­schen Unterstützungs-­Elementen wie beispielsweise Wandreflektoren. Jede Veränderung des Produktionsprozesses lässt sich in den autonomen FTS­-Lösun­gen abbilden. Dafür werden die neuen Umgebungsmerkmale aufgenommen und die Zielpunkte verändert.

Susanne Dannat:
„Industrie 4.0 ist auch bei den innerbetrieblichen Transportaufgaben ein großes Thema.“

Ausfälle eines Fahrzeugs innerhalb einer Flotte werden rasch kompensiert. Autonome Transportroboter errechnen Alternativrouten und übernehmen die Transportaufgaben des ausgefallenen Fahrzeugs. In engen Produktionshallen teilen sich die Transportroboter flexibel den Platz auf den Gängen und vor den Maschinen mit den Beschäftigten und eventuellen tem­porären Hindernissen. Die technischen Herausforderungen beim Einsatz solcher autonomen Transportsysteme entstehen einerseits durch die vielfältigen Gegebenheiten bei den Kunden. Andererseits muss sowohl die Kommunikation der Fahrzeuge mit den Produktionsmaschinen, als auch des Flottenleitsystems mit der vorhandenen Produktionssteuerung passgenau gestal­tet werden. So können aus dem Material­bedarf Transportaufträge erzeugt, der Produktionsablauf abgebildet und alle Sicherheitsanforderungen eingehalten werden.

Der Text ist in der 7. Ausgabe der VDMA Nachrichten abgedruckt worden.
Quelle: VDMA, Kontakt des Redakteurs: Peter Früauf

Link zu VDMA Nachrichten 

Link zur proANT-Produktwebseite