Premiere: Stacklifter – A new transport robot is celebrated

For two years the team worked on it: the proANT 016 AGV Stacklifter. Now, this new transport robot is ready to be delivered to its first customers. InSystems Automation celebrated this premiere and introduces the team behind its development.

The Stacklifter for SLC stacks – autonomous and entirely without passing station

InSystems celebrates the Stacklifter and congratulates the team, and the transport robot’s next stage of development was introduced with a demonstration and a glass of champagne. After its design and construction, the Stacklifter prototype is now able to detect any given number of boxes that were placed on the floor using its laser scanner at its back. This allows it to then pick them up and transport them autonomically, as all proANT robots do, and automatically manage all storage areas on the floor.

With the Stacklifter’s detection algorithm, it is also possible to detect the position of pallets or other transport containers. This will prove useful for other proANT transport robots in the future.

The construction and algorithm development for the Stacklifter are both the impressive achievements of two students, who each worked on this project for their Masters thesis and will now, after their graduation, stay with InSystems.

The proANT Stacklifter is a unique invention. Usually, transport robots pick up their loads only at passing stations, but the Stacklifter was developed to lift stacks and crates directly from the floor. It is able to identify them even if they are not positioned evenly and automatically picks them up. The stacks’ exact alignment is detected via laser scanner and the Stacklifter will navigate autonomously to approach its load just right to pick it up in its holding compartment.

This vehicle is meant to allow the simple creation of inexpensive and flexible storage areas and production buffers directly within the production site. The Stacklifter is, as all proANT-robots are, safe to use around humans and can thus be implemented to work side by side with employees.

A success to be celebrated

As is the case with any prototype, it took time to develop the Stacklifter. Over the span of two years, it was planned, constructed, programmed and tested. Now, on the 20th of July 2018, InSystems celebrated its completion with a company-wide information and demonstration event. Within the foyer of InSystems’ new office, the vehicle could be observed as it reliably navigated and positioned itself towards the SLCs it was to pick up. This display was met by all with a round of applause, as well as some champagne to clink glasses with.

proANT Stacklifer Demo bei InSystems proANT Stacklifer erkennt KLT Behälter

A great team

Entwicklerteam des proANT Stacklifter

Designing engineer Kristof

“I’m proud of this.”, says Kristof, who was the first to create a full concept of the Stacklifter for his Masters thesis almost one year ago. “Working on this project was a valuable time for me. The development of all the mechanics were left to me – that creates a lot of experience.”

Today, Kristof is one of InSystems’ designing engineers after he was hired directly after finishing his degree. The final creation of the Stacklifter long seemed like it would belong in the distant future. “There were three main steps.”, he explains. “First, I designed all the mechanics. There was already a lot of cooperation between different departments at that point, as there was a lot of input in terms of different ideas as to how to best put this vehicle together from step one. Then, there was a period where I didn’t have much to do with the project while the electrical engineering team worked on the second step, that is, installing all the necessary electronic systems. And then, for the third step, Daniele came in and brought the robot to life with his programming.”

It was a long-term project with many testing phases. Was it fun to keep tinkering with it all for this long?

“Tinkering is a good word for it.”, Kristof says. “Yes, absolutely, and there’s really a great working atmosphere here. Everyone is easy to work together and communicate with, which is important. All those who worked on this project had their ideas and wishes to make the construction design and its electronics fit together as well as possible from the very beginning. It was all teamwork, and no one here would ever say anything else. I had to change a few things around for Daniele too, to make the robot drive the way it’s supposed to.”

Software engineer Daniele

Daniele – that is the one who programmed the algorithm for the Stacklifter’s container detection features. Born in Italy, he now writes his Masters thesis at InSystems too and has just received the offer to stay with the organisation after he graduates.

“I learned so much and I’m very happy with how everything turned out.”, he says during his interview. “It really does feel good when you’re just out of college and immediately get to work on a big project like this. That’s an opportunity not everyone gets.”

There were several milestones for him to accomplish during his work on the project, such as the development of a concept as to how the robot should best interpret its scanner’s data, developing a detection algorithm for it to identify the containers it is meant to transport and and finally the motion planning for the vehicle. Added to that were several requirements from different sources, for example things that needed adjusting to better fit possible customer’s needs. Keeping on top of all this wasn’t always easy, but: “I had great support. There was always someone I could ask if I needed advice, everyone was always open for questions. The working atmosphere here was really good, and that definitely helped me with my learning.”

Originally, Daniele found his way to InSystems thanks to a professor at his university, who had a contact with the organisation. Then, he simply meant to finish his studies here – now, he plans on staying even after he receives his degree. “I’ll be working in research and development.”, he says. “There’ll be a lot of new projects for me, and maybe I’ll also keep developing the Stacklifter further.”

Both Kristof and Daniele made their way to this organisation as students, but stay as fully-fledged co-workers and employees. After all, InSystems is always interested in supporting and offering opportunities to young talents. The Stacklifter was their first large project – but it is certainly not going to be the last.

Further information:

Technical data of the proANT 016 Stacklifter

Career at InSystems

Premiere: Stacklifter – Ein neuer Transportroboter wird gefeiert

Zwei Jahre lang arbeitete das Team an ihm: dem proANT 016 AGV Stacklifter. Nun ist der Transportroboter bereit für die ersten Kunden. InSystems Automation feierte die Premiere und stellt das Team hinter seiner Entwicklung vor.

Der Stacklifter für KLT Stapel – autonom und ganz ohne Übergabestation

InSystems feiert den Stacklifter und gratuliert dem Team. Mit einer Demonstration und einem Glas Sekt wurde die nächste Entwicklungsstufe unseres autonomen Transportroboters „Stacklifter“ gefeiert.
Nach Konstruktion und Bau des Prototypen kann dieser nun mit Hilfe des Laserscanners auf der Rückseite die Position von beliebig auf dem Boden stehenden Boxen erkennen. So können diese dann vom Roboter zum Transport aufgenommen werden. Die letzten Schritte sind nur noch das autonom Fahren zum Ziel, wie es die anderen proANT Transportroboter ja bereits können, und die automatische Verwaltung der Bodenlagerplätze
Mit dem Erkennungsalgoritmus lassen sich auch die Positionen von Paletten oder anderen Transportbehältern detektieren. Somit kann die Technik zukünftig für verschiedene proANT Transportroboter genutzt werden.

Die Konstruktion und der Algorithmus sind die eindrucksvolle Leistung zweier Studenten, die das neue Fahrzeug als Masterprojekte konstruiert und programmiert haben und auch nach ihren Abschlüssen bei InSystems bleiben.

Das proANT Stacklifter ist eine einzigartige Entwicklung. Üblicherweise nehmen Transportroboter ihre Lasten nur von Übergabestellen und Fördertechnik auf, doch der Stacklifter ist dazu ausgelegt, Kisten und Stapel direkt vom Boden aufzuheben. Der Stacklifter erkennt die Behälter, auch wenn sie mit Versatz oder verdreht stehen und nimmt sie automatisch auf. Er erkennt die Ausrichtung mittels Laserscanner und navigiert autonom, um die Last genau in seinen Laderaum aufzunehmen.

Mit diesem Fahrzeug lassen sich sehr kostengünstige und flexible Lager und Produktionspuffer einfach auf der Produktionsfläche errichten. Der Stacklifter ist wie alle proANT-Fahrzeuge personensicher und kann daher Seite an Seite mit dem Mensch eingesetzt werden.

Ein Erfolg, den man feiern kann

Wie jeder Prototyp brauchte die Entwicklung des Stacklifters seine Zeit. Über zwei Jahre hinweg wurde er konstruiert, programmiert und getestet. Am 20. Juli 2018 feierte InSystems nun mit einer internen Informationsrunde und Demonstration des Transportroboters seine Fertigstellung.
Im Foyer des neuen Firmensitzes von InSystems navigierte das Fahrzeug zu den Behältern und richtete sich zuverlässig nach dem aufzunehmenden KLT Behälter aus. Der Transportroboter nahm den KLT Behälter auf und wurde dafür mit einem Applaus bedacht und ein Glas Sekt zum Anstoßen rundete die Vorführung ab.

proANT Stacklifer Demo bei InSystems proANT Stacklifer erkennt KLT Behälter

Ein starkes Team

Entwicklerteam des proANT Stacklifter

Konstrukteur Kristof

„Ich bin stolz darauf.“, sagt Kristof, der den Roboter vor knapp einem Jahr als Masterarbeit bei InSystems erstmals als Konzept zu Papier gebracht hat. „Das Arbeiten an diesem Projekt war für mich eine wertvolle Zeit. Der Bau der Mechanik war ganz mir überlassen – so etwas schafft Erfahrung.“

Kristof ist heute Konstrukteur bei InSystems, nachdem er nach dem Studium direkt übernommen wurde. Für ihn war der Stacklifter lange nur Zukunftsmusik. „Es gab quasi drei Etappen.“, sagt er zu dem Fertigungsprozess. „Zuerst habe ich die Mechanik konstruiert. Schon da gab es eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen den verschiedenen Abteilungen, von denen Ideen kamen, wie man das Fahrzeug von Beginn an am besten konzipieren kann. Dann ruhte das ganze eine Weile für mich, während die Elektroprojektierer im zweiten Schritt alle nötige Elektronik installiert haben. Und dann im dritten Abschnitt kam Daniele, der den Roboter mit der richtigen Programmierung zum Leben erweckt hat.“

Es war ein längerfristiges Projekt mit vielen Test- und Probephasen. Ob ihm das Tüfteln denn Spaß gemacht hat?

„Tüfteln ist ein gutes Wort.“, sagt Kristof. „Ja, absolut. Man hat hier auch eine tolle Arbeitsatmosphäre. Man kann mit allen gut zusammenarbeiten, das muss man ja auch. Die Projektierer hatten ihre Wünsche, wie Konstruktion und Elektronik von vornherein gut zusammenpassen sollen. Es war eine Teamarbeit, das kann und will hier niemand für sich allein beanspruchen. Auch für Daniele musste ich noch ein paar Dinge abändern, damit der Roboter wirklich so fahren kann, wie er das soll.“

Programmierer Daniele

 Daniele – das ist derjenige, der den Algorithmus für die Behältererkennung  programmiert hat. Der gebürtige Italiener schreibt ebenfalls hier bei InSystems seine Masterarbeit und hat vor kurzem das Angebot bekommen, nach seinem Abschluss bei InSystems zu bleiben.

„Ich habe so viel gelernt und bin wirklich zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis.“, sagt er im Interview. „Es fühlt sich wirklich gut an, wenn man gerade vom College kommt und gleich an so einem großen Projekt arbeiten kann. Diese Möglichkeit erhält nicht jeder.“

Während seiner Arbeit gab es für ihn mehrere Meilensteine zu bewältigen, so zum Beispiel die Erarbeitung eines Konzepts dazu, wie der Roboter seine Scannerdaten am besten auszuwerten hat, die Entwicklung eines Erkennungsalgorithmus für zu transportierende Behälter und die anschließende Bewegungsplanung für das Fahrzeug. Dazu kamen noch verschiedene Anforderungen, beispielsweise von möglichen Kunden, die speziell zu beachten waren. All dies zu berücksichtigen war nicht immer einfach, aber: „Ich hatte eine tolle Unterstützung. Mir standen immer Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung, wenn ich Rat brauchte, das Team stand immer für alle Fragen offen. Die Atmosphäre war einfach super, und das hat mir sehr beim Dazulernen geholfen.“

Ursprünglich kam Daniele über einen Kontakt, den ein Professor an seiner Universität zu InSystems hatte, an das Unternehmen, um hier sein Studium zu beenden. Nun will er auch nach seinem Abschluss bleiben. „Ich werde in Research und Development arbeiten.“, sagt er. „Da wird es viele neue Projekte für mich geben, und vielleicht kann ich auch den Stacklifter weiterentwickeln.“

Sowohl Kristof als auch Daniele kamen als Studenten zu InSystems und bleiben als vollwertige Mitarbeiter. Denn das Unternehmen ist stets daran interessiert, junge Talente zu fördern und in unserem Team zu integrieren. Der Stacklifter war ihr erstes großes Projekt – aber es wird sicher nicht das letzte gewesen sein.

Weiterführende Links:

Technische Daten zum proANT 016 Stacklifter

Karriere bei InSystems