The future of work

On the 7th of October 2017, managing director of InSystems Automation Henry Stubert, scientist Prof. Dr. Schlingloff and politician Florian Swyter discussed the future of work under the moderation of Ricarda Wagner of the German Association of Digital Economy e.V. (BVDW).

The future of work: Digitalization changes communication

Smartphones, computers and robots have become a familiar sight in many parts of our lives. At work, the computer and its internet connection can barely be done without. A study of the Society for Consumer Research (GfK) shows that the average office worker creates 600 emails, 20 documents and 15 table-calculations per month. In order to get this information, the GfK asked a total of 1.107 German employees who spend at least 50 percent of their working hours on a computer. It was also found that the number of daily emails has risen by 60 percent over the course of the last few years. This means that the average time spent on each email is three minutes.

The digitalization process changes not only our way of communication in the office and everyday life, but also leads to a larger change of the job market and general society. Many predict the loss of a lot of jobs due to automation and digitalization. But what does digitalization really mean? The term digitalization broadly refers to changes in processes, objects and events that go hand in hand with the use of digital devices. In the original, more narrow sense of the word, it is used for the creation of digital representations of physical objects, events and analogue media.

Digitalization isn’t scary

Henry Stubert, managing director of InSystems Automation, has made his point during the discussion that the topic of automation is becoming more and more important worldwide. He says: “There is a lot of potential for companies to automate working processes in the future.” At the same time, he also eases concerns about large amounts of job losses: “We will have to automate in order to make Germany’s industry more productive. The risk of many losing their jobs is much higher if we leave things as they are and lose production branches as they are outsourced to other countries. We should stop looking at digitalization as something scary.” His experience has shown that workers in companies that choose to automate and use new technologies do not lose their jobs at all. Usually, these employees find new tasks in other areas of the firm. The future of work is changing at a rapid pace.

 

No digital change without education

There was one topic that all participants of the discussion agreed on: Digitalization means that new concepts in education policies become necessary. Prof. Dr. Schlingloff of the Humboldt-University argues for an early introduction of children to the topic, for example via certain toys in kindergarten or initiatives later in pimary school. He says: “We need to make sure that children learn to have a natural understanding of communication and information technology.” His conclusion? “Without education, there can be no digital changes.” Therefore, he calls for politics to spend more money on education so that children are not left behind.

 

Links for further information:

Link to Florian Swyter

Link to the Fraunhofer-Institute for Open Communication Systems FOKUS

Link to the Institute for Computer Sciences of the HU Berlin

Link to our transport robot system proANT

Zukunft der Arbeit

Über das Thema Zukunft der Arbeit haben am 7. Oktober 2017 Geschäftsführer Henry Stubert mit Wissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Schlingloff und Politiker Florian Swyter unter Moderation von Ricarda Wagner vom Bundesverband Digitale Wirtschaft (BVDW) e.V. diskutiert.

Zukunft der Arbeit: Digitalisierung verändert die Kommunikation

Smartphones, Computer, Roboter gehören inzwischen in vielen Lebensbereichen unserer Gesellschaft zum vertrauten Bild. Auch am Arbeitsplatz sind Computer und Internet nicht mehr weg zu denken. Laut einer Studie der Gesellschaft für Konsumforschung (GfK) liefert ein deutscher Büroarbeitnehmer durchschnittlich 600 Mails, 20 Dokumente und 15 Tabellen-Kalkulationen pro Monat. Die GfK befragte dazu insgesamt 1.107 Arbeitnehmer in Deutschland, die zu mindestens 50 Prozent ihrer Arbeitszeit am Computer tätig sind. Festgestellt wurde ebenfalls, dass die Zahl der täglichen E-Mails signifikant in den letzten Jahren nämlich um rund 60 Prozent zugenommen hat. Dies entspricht einer durchschnittlichen Bearbeitungszeit von drei Minuten pro Mail.

Die Digitalisierung verändert nicht nur unsere Art der Kommunikation im Büro und im Alltag, sondern führt zu einem grundsätzlichen Wandlungsprozess des Arbeitsmarktes und der Gesellschaft. Es wird vorhergesagt, dass viele tausend Stellen wegen Automatisierung und Digitalisierung wegfallen werden. Was aber heißt Digitalisierung? Der Begriff Digitalisierung bezeichnet allgemein die Veränderung von Abläufen, Objekten und Ereignissen, die mit einer zunehmenden Nutzung von digitalen Geräten einhergeht. Im engeren und ursprünglichen Sinn ist damit die Erstellung digitaler Repräsentationen von physischen Objekten, Ereignissen und analogen Medien gemeint.

Digitalisierung ist kein Schreckgespenst

Henry Stubert, Gründer von InSystems Automation, hat in der Diskussion klargestellt, dass das Thema Automatisierung weltweit immer wichtiger wird. Er meint: „Das Potential an Firmen ist groß, die in Zukunft Arbeitsabläufe automatisieren werden.“ Gleichwohl beruhigt er, dass uns in Zukunft keine Massenarbeitslosigkeit bevorsteht: „Wir werden automatisieren müssen, damit die Industrie in Deutschland produktiver wird. Das Risiko der Massenarbeitslosigkeit ist größer, wenn wir ganze Produktionszweige an andere Länder verlieren. Wir sollten die Digitalisierung nicht als großes Schreckgespenst verstehen.“ Seine Erfahrung hat gezeigt, dass Mitarbeiter in Firmen, die auf Automatisierung und neue Technologien setzen, keinesfalls entlassen werden. In der Regel finden sich für jene Mitarbeiter neue Aufgaben in anderen Bereichen des Werks. Denn die Zukunft der Arbeit wandelt sich mit einem hohen Tempo.

 

Ohne Bildung kein digitaler Wandel

Auf einen Punkt konnten sich die Diskutanten in der Runde schnell einigen: Digitalisierung erfordert auch ein Umdenken in der Bildungspolitik. Prof. Dr. Schlingloff von der Humboldt-Universität plädiert dafür, Kinder schon früh an das Thema Digitalisierung beispielsweise mit entsprechendem Spielzeug im Kindergarten oder Initiativen später in der Grundschule heranzuführen. Er ergänzt: „Wir müssen dafür sorgen, Kindern einen selbstverständlichen Umgang mit Kommunikations- und Informationstechnik zu vermitteln.“ Er zieht den Schluss: „Ohne Bildung kann es keinen digitalen Wandel geben.“ Seine Aufforderung an die Politik lautet daher, mehr Geld für die Bildung in die Hand zu nehmen, um nicht den Anschluss zu verlieren.

 

Weiterführende Links:

Link zu Florian Swyter

Link zu Fraunhofer-Institut für Offene Kommunikationssysteme FOKUS

Link zum Institut für Informatik der HU Berlin

Link zum Transportrobotersystem proANT